West Virginia Workforce Development Board	
Meeting Minutes	September 20, 2023
Approved Date:	December 13, 2023

Member Attendees: Scott Adkins, Stephanie Ahart, Ben Ashley, Sarah Bolyard, Pisnu Bua-Iam, Anne Cavelier, Steve Cox, Jacob Green, Deborah Harris, Mendy Marshall, Chad Morrison, John O'Neal, Cynthia Persily, Hon. Jay Powell, Hon. Chandler Swope, Josh Sword, Jennifer Tenney, Dr. Christopher Treadway, Ann Urling,

Members Attending Virtual: Jason Asbury, Hon. Paul Espinosa, Jeffrey Rowe, Dr. Casey Sacks, Lisa Samples-White, Hon. Vic Sprouse, Alex Weld, Jason Wilburn, H. Julian Woods, Denise Worley

Partner Attendees: Rachel Bowman, Barb Dawes, Maria Larry, Tamara Lee, Mardy Leathers, Criss McCauley, Kent Nowviskie, Michele Painter, Maureen Persons, David Roger, TJ VanMeter, Bonnie Swan, NPWIB

Call to Order

Meeting was called to order by Ann Urling at 10:05 am.

Approval of Minutes

Approval was asked for June 21, 2023, meeting minutes. Motion to approve June 21, 2023 minutes was made by Josh Sword; seconded by John O'Neal; motion passed.

Governor's Statement

Ms. Ann Urling, Governor's Deputy Chief of Staff provided comments on behalf of Governor Justice.

Partner Updates

Job Fair information and Workforce West Virginia updates: Maureen Persons, Director

Updates to West Virginia Adult Education: Mendy Marshall, Director

Updates to No Wrong Door West Virginia: Lorrie Smith, Workforce Resiliency Officer

Committee Updates

Industry Partners/Employer Engagement, Operations, Performance and Accountability, and Career Pathways have met completing introductions and orientation for the committees. Finalizing charters for each committee: Tara Martinez, Staff Workforce Resiliency Office

Unfinished Business

No unfinished business.

New Business

- WV Workforce Development Board Website Overview by Lorrie Smith, Workforce Resiliency Officer
- West Virginia Infrastructure Hub/Grants WV Overview by Toni Horst and Ann Urling
- WIOA Plan Development
- One Stop Model presentation Presentation by Dr. Mardy Leathers
- Executive Committee Charter Approval was asked for Executive Committee Charter. Motion to approve the was made by Ben Ashley; seconded by Deborah Harris/Steve Cox; motion passed.
- Requirements for Local Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) Policy Approval was asked for approval of Local Memorandum of Understanding Policy. Motion to approve was made by John O'Neal; seconded by Dr. Christopher Treadway; motion passed.
- One-Stop Infrastructure Funding Policy Discussion on meaning of (which may be a different time period than the duration of the MOU). Motion by Deborah Harris to strike that from the document; seconded by Josh Sword. Motion to approve version of the One-Stop Infrastructure Funding policy with line stricken. Motion to approve was made by Cynthia Persily; seconded by Chad Morrison; motions passed.

Announcements – See follow-up email.

Public Comment

No public comments were made.

Adjournment – Motion to adjourn offered by Anne Cavelier; seconded by Stephanie Ahart; motion carried, adjourned at 12:12 pm